

Advocacy & Accountability

Representing Over 3 Million People in Massachusetts Communities Since 1985 Friday, January 14, 2022 Remote Connection via Zoom 10:00 AM

Attendees

Michael Rademacher David Manugian John Sullivan Jay Hersey John Sanchez Sam Corda Lou Mammolette David Pavlik Maurice Handel Arlington Bedford Boston Brookline Burlington Cambridge Chelsea Lexington MAPC

Elena Proakis Ellis Jeremey Marsette Lou Taverna Richard Raiche Sam Stivers John DeAmicis Joe Favaloro Matthew Romero James Guiod Melrose Natick Newton Somerville Southborough Stoneham Advisory Board Staff Advisory Board Staff

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING SUMMARY

A. Opening Roll Call

A commencing roll call was voted as follows:

Name	Community	Vote
Michael Rademacher	Arlington	Yes
David Manugian	Bedford	Yes
John P. Sullivan, Jr.	Boston	Yes
Jay Hersey	Brookline	Yes
John G. Sanchez	Burlington	Yes
Sam Corda	Cambridge	Yes
Lou Mammolette	Chelsea	(arrived after roll vote)
David Pavlik	Lexington	Yes
Yem Lip	Malden	
Maurice Handel	MAPC	Yes
Elena Proakis Ellis	Melrose	Yes
Jeremy Marsette	Natick	Yes
Lou Taverna	Newton	Yes
Nicholas J. Rystrom	Revere	(arrived after roll vote)
Brendan O'Regan	Saugus	Yes
Richard Raiche	Somerville	(arrived after roll vote)
Sam Stivers	Southborough	Yes
John P. DeAmicis	Stoneham	Yes

B. Approval of Executive Committee Meeting minutes from November 12, 2021

John DeAmicis moved for the approval of the drafted November 12, 2021 Executive Committee minutes. David Manugian seconded the motion and it was added to the omnibus roll call vote for the end of the meeting.

Joseph E. Favaloro Executive Director



Advocacy & Accountability

Representing Over 3 Million People in Massachusetts Communities Since 1985

C. Report of the Executive Director

Executive Director, Joe Favaloro, noted it seemed likely that fully remote meetings would continue for the foreseeable future. He also explained the sewerage notification and regulation trainings had been going out to communities. He also noted that discussion around the renewal of the Deer Island NPDES permit were developing and staff would keep the Executive Committee posted as they move on. Mr. Favaloro explained that the MWRA reached an agreement with CSX regarding the purchase of the railway in the Watchusett Watershed, this included the implementation of new safety protocols.

D. Preview of the 2021 Retail Rate Survey

Director of Finance, James Guiod, presented some highlights from the soon to be published 2021 Retail Rate Survey. For the 2021 calendar year, using the AWWA standard of 120 HCF per household usage annually, the average combined water and sewer bill for MWRA communities was \$1,760. This is an increase of 2.92% from last year's combined bill of \$1,709. In comparison, the average wholesale rate change for wholesale communities in June of 2021 was 2.95%.

E. Regionalization/Entrance Fee Discussion

Executive Director, Joe Favaloro, continued discussion on how the long-standing concept of a regional water system for the greater Boston area could play a pivotal role in confronting the growing PFAS issues facing Commonwealth communities. The presentation included potential available federal and state funding and possible advantages of waiving the entrance fee for incoming communities.

F. Approval of January 20, 2022 Advisory Board Meeting Agenda

David Manugian moved for the approval of the proposed January 20, 2022 Advisory Board Meeting Agenda. Maurice Handel seconded the motion and it was added to the omnibus roll call vote for the end of the meeting.

G. Approvals and Adjournment

Maurice Handel moved for the adjournment of the meeting following the omnibus roll call vote. David Manugian seconded the motion.

A roll call vote for the motions made and seconded was voted as follows:



Advocacy & Accountability

Representing Over 3 Million People in Massachusetts Communities Since 1985

Name	Community	Vote
Michael Rademacher	Arlington	Yes
David Manugian	Bedford	Yes
John P. Sullivan, Jr.	Boston	Yes
Jay Hersey	Brookline	Yes
John G. Sanchez	Burlington	Yes
Sam Corda	Cambridge	Yes
Lou Mammolette	Chelsea	Yes
David Pavlik	Lexington	Yes
Yem Lip	Malden	
Maurice Handel	MAPC	Yes
Elena Proakis Ellis	Melrose	Yes
Jeremy Marsette	Natick	Yes
Lou Taverna	Newton	Yes
Nicholas J. Rystrom	Revere	Yes
Brendan O'Regan	Saugus	Yes
Richard Raiche	Somerville	Yes
Sam Stivers	Southborough	Yes
John P. DeAmicis	Stoneham	Yes

Respectfully submitted,

DU

Michael W. Rademacher, Secretary

These minutes reflect the discussion of the meeting. The Advisory Board maintains audio recordings of Executive Committee meetings that are available upon request.

Joseph E. Favaloro Executive Director